City Election Information

The City of Chamblee elects a Mayor and five Council Members (District 1, 2, 3, 4 and At-Large) for staggered four year terms. Elections are held in odd-numbered years on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November. Polls are open from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm.

The City of Chamblee General Municipal Election polling locations are run and determined by the Voter Registration and Elections division of DeKalb County. Use the My Voter Page to determine your polling location.

View the District Map

Qualifying Candidate Information

2021 Election and Qualifying Information

According to State Law O.C.G.A. § 21-2-9(b), and the City Charter of Chamblee, the offices of Mayor, Council Member District 1 (One), Council Member District 4 (Four) and the Council Member At-Large shall be elected on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November.

The next scheduled election for the City of Chamblee is Tuesday, November 2, 2021. Polls are open from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm.

Seats up for election on November 2, 2021:

  • Mayor (currently held by R. Eric Clarkson)
  • Council Member - District 1 (currently held by Mayor Pro Tem John Mesa)
  • Council Member - District 4 (currently vacant)
  • Council Member - At-Large (currently held by Council Member Brian Mock)

In accordance with SB294 signed by the Governor on May 3, 2021, at the 2021 general municipal election the Councilmember for District 4 (Four) shall be elected for an initial term of office of two years. All other seats up for election have a term of four (4) years.

The transition of an at-large (representing the entire city) seat to establish a district-specific seat in the newly created District 4 provides for equal representation for this geographic area of the City of Chamblee. More information available here.

Qualifying to Run for Office

The qualifying fee for Mayor is $540.00. The qualifying fee for City Council District 1 (One), District 4 (Four) and Member At-Large is $360.00. This amount is three (3)  percent of the total gross salary of the preceding year (Georgia Election Code 21-2-131(a)(1)(A)).

Each candidate shall file a Notice of Candidacy in the office of the City Clerk of Chamblee, 5468 Peachtree Road, Chamblee, GA 30341, between Tuesday, August 17, 2021 and Thursday, August 19, 2021 between the hours of 8:30 am and 1:30 pm and 2:30 pm and 4:30 pm. Candidates must meet the qualification of the Charter and Code of the City of Chamblee, as well as applicable state and constitutional laws. To determine your Council District, click here and enter your address.

Those persons who have already decided to run for an office and have declared candidacy may be required to file campaign contribution and/or financial reporting. For additional information regarding declaring candidacy, campaign forms, contribution and/or financial reporting schedules refer to or call 404-463-1980.

Qualifying Officer: Cherron Bouie 770-395-2304. Email

Qualified Candidates

Those so far who have qualified during the qualifying period, Tuesday-Thursday, August 17-19:


  • Brian K. Mock

Council Member - At-Large

  • Jimmy Furst
  • Van Pappas

Council Member - District 1

  • John A. Mesa
  • Lewis Newmark

Council Member - District 4

  • Elmer L. Veith
  • Douglas A. Westhoven

A Sample Ballot provided by the DeKalb County Voter Registration & Elections Department will be available on this page following qualification for the election.